Newtown man facing murder charges in Waterbury pipe attack

A Waterbury prosecutor says a Newtown man charged with a pipe attack on his estranged wife and her boyfriend is going to face murder charges.
State’s Attorney John Connelly says 31-year-old Nicholas Clark will be charged with murder when 26-year-old Erich Tabert dies. Connelly says Tabert was declared brain dead Monday and is to be taken off life support.
Police say Tabert was dating Clark’s estranged wife, 29-year-old Christa Clark.
Police say that about 4:30 a.m. Saturday, as Tabert and Christa Clark slept, Nicholas Clark slipped into his former house and beat the couple with a metal pipe and fled.
Clark is being held on $2.5 million bond.
ap

3 Responses to Newtown man facing murder charges in Waterbury pipe attack

  1. Anonymous says:

    Erich was a sweetheart, and certainly didn’t deserve what this low life has done.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Don’t Cry Much Now-a-days
    Body: The day look brighter, and on the direction for an awesome mourning. Talk about a extreme change in emotions. I was a friend of Erich sense Grade School. Words don’t explain or describe how honest, humble, and true of a person Erich was. He always brightened even the darkest hours. I don’t seek revenge for such a primative action. But with this happening all over the world. I hope Men/Women of the law will start to taking threaten words or actions more seriously. We have lost an upstanding person, and even better friend. My heart is with those who were close to him.
    Erich Tabert R.I.P man. 4/27/1981-11/17/2007

    LOVE YOU..

    I feel some what deprived of something. I’ve seen the ugliness of violence, and been on the recieving end. When I watch the News (Generally don’t) execpt Sports and weather. You see more violence of so-and-so was murdered. More Death tolls in Middle East, or more shooting at school. I feel as more and more of this is desensitising people. People are so use to seeing it on tv that they act on emotions instead of thoughts. We want to blame video games, we want to blame movies, tv, and music. But what we don’t want to blame is ourselves. You/I are responsible for the actions that we take. I takes a true coward to attack some one while they sleep. I feel sickened with the Idea that he will sit in prison on my tax dollar. Makes me feel like I supported such a poor excuse for a human for killing a friend. You lead by example, and America right now supports their crimals. This man should take a place or Erich (Erich was in the Air Force), . I think he should be shipped to the heart of the war in Iraq (in which I do Not Support), and gets the chance to fight for the place where he deprived a man of life. He gets a chance to die for his country in which he Violated. He at that time will not die in vain. But die in a way in which he’d be recognized as a least of a man fighting for his rights (in which he took) as an American.
    Ronald Unger (Salt Lake City, UT)

  3. Gina M. Puggioni-Flores says:

    This disgusting maniac attacked and nearly killed my friend and I at an establishment in Danbury, CT for NO reason 2 hours prior to his rampage in Waterbury on 11/17/07. I told the local police who came to the scene that this man was out to kill someone that night with the look he had in his eyes and the rage he displayed. I feel the whole situation in Waterbury on Christa and Erich could have been avoided had the police put an APB out on this disgusting repeat criminal. I was informed of his rampage during a photo line-up at the Danbury Police Dept on 11/23/07. I live in Carmel, NY, so I was not aware of the incident until then, I do not listen to nor read the CT. news. This should never had happened. Mine and my friend’s life will never be the same. And of course my heart and prayers go out to Christa and her family and friends, as as to Erich and his family and friends. What is happening in this world?? This idiot is being held in a resort type setting after the disgusting crimes he has committed. Sad..very, very sad for all of us effected.

Leave a comment